ZURICH: Women’s World Player of the Year Nadine Angerer is among the contenders for the 2014 award after the ‘long shortlists’ were published by FIFA.

The decision will be made by the captains and head coaches of the women’s national teams as well as by international media representatives selected by the world federation.

Shortlists for the men’s awards will follow on October 28 and winners will be revealed at the annual FIFA Gala in the Zurich Kongresshaus on January 12.

The list of 10 female players and 10 coaches have been drawn up representatives of FIFA’s committee for women’s football and FIFA Women’s World Cup and from the Paris magazine France Football.

All the three-strong final shortlists will be announced on December 1.

The three nominees for the FIFA Puskás Award and the FIFA FIFPro World XI shortlist for the best forwards, goalkeepers, defenders and midfielders will be unveiled in the end of November and the beginning of December.

The contenders

FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2014: Nadine Angerer (Germany), Veronica Boquete (Spain), Nilla Fischer (Sweden), Nahomi Kawasumi (Japan), Nadine Kessler (Germany), Marta (Brazil), Aya Miyama (Japan), Louisa Necib (France), Lotta Schelin (Sweden), Abby Wambach (USA).

FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football 2014: Philippe Bergeroo (France/France national team), Peter Dedevbo (Nigeria/Nigeria U-20 national team), Laura Harvey (England/Seattle Reign FC), Ralf Kellermann (Germany/VfL Wolfsburg), Maren Meinert (Germany/Germany U-20 national team), Norio Sasaki (Japan/Japan national team), Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Sweden national team), Asako Takemoto Takakura (Japan/Japan U-17 national team), Jorge Vilda (Spain/Spain U-17 national team and U-19 national team), Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany/Switzerland national team).

# # # # # #