MONTE CARLO: Celia Sasic has been rewarded for her top-scoring form at the Women’s World Cup by being voted as UEFA’s European Woman’s Player of the Year in Monaco writes KEIR RADNEDGE.

Her success maintained a German monopoly since first award went Germany goalkeeper Nadine Angerer in 2013 with Nadine Kessler of Wolfsburg being honoured last year.

Sasic was awarded the golden boot at the World Cup in Canada after scoring six times and managing one assist in fewer minutes than United States striker Carli Lloyd. Germany finished fourth.

Earlier Sasic had also scored the opening goal when 1FFC Frankurt beat Paris 2-1 in UEFA Women’s Champions League final.

Sasic won the UEFA prize for the first time ahead of her Germany and Frankfurt team-mate Dzsenifer Marozsan and France midfielder Amandine Henry (Lyon).

The original award shortlist also included Nadine Angerer (Germany, Portland Thorns), Ramona Bachmann (Switzerland, FC Rosengård), Verónica Boquete (Spain, Frankfurt now Bayern), Simone Laudehr (Germany, Frankfurt), Eugénie Le Sommer (France, Lyon), Wendie Renard (France, Lyon), Anja Mittag (Germany, Rosengard now Paris Saint-Germain), Alexandra Popp (Germany, Wolfsburg) and Caroline Seger (Sweden, Paris S-G).