NYON: Three countries have notified European federation UEFA of an initial interest in playing host to the inaugural Nations League Finals in June 2019.

Italy, Poland and Portugal are the trio with  a decision due to be made by the UEFA executive committee in December. They have until 31 August to submit their bid dossiers.

In principle the finals should be hosted by one of the group winners from League A. Since Italy, Poland and Portugal form Group A3, it follows that the winners of that section should be given the nod by UEFA.

Italy’s last major hosting was the 1990 World Cup, Poland shared staging of Euro 2012 with Ukraine while Portugal held the finals of Euro 2004.




Watch the draw

The finals will be a four-team event involving the winners of the League A groups. The semi-finals will be played on 5 and 6 June 2019, with the third-place match and final, crowning the first ever UEFA Nations League winner, on 9 June.

The finals will be held in two stadiums with a net seating capacity of at least 30,000, ideally located in the same host city or approximately 150km apart. The venues will be confirmed with the submission of the bid dossiers.




Group A1: Germany, France, Netherlands
Group A2: Belgium, Switzerland, Iceland
Group A3: Portugal, Italy, Poland
Group A4: Spain, England, Croatia

  • Four group winners compete to win the UEFA Nations League in June 2019
  • Four sides that finish bottom of groups relegated to League B for 2020/21 edition
  • Top four-ranked League A teams that do not qualify for UEFA EURO 2020 enter play-offs in March 2020, with one EURO finals place on offer

Meet the UEFA Nations League trophy

Matchday 1: 6–8 September 2018
Matchday 2: 9–11 September 2018
Matchday 3: 11–13 October 2018
Matchday 4: 14–16 October 2018
Matchday 5: 15–17 November 2018
Matchday 6: 18–20 November 2018
Finals draw: tbc
Finals: 5–9 June 2019
UEFA EURO 2020 play-off draw: 22 November 2019
UEFA EURO 2020 play-offs: 26–31 March 2020