—- The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has revealed the shortlist for the Allianz Best Team of March based on performances at the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games. The public can now vote for the winner on www.paralympic.org.

In lieu of the IPC Athlete of the Month award for March, the honour is being separated into three different categories – Best Male Athlete, Best Female Athlete and Best Team – based on results at PyeongChang 2018.

Canadian Brian McKeever was named Best Male and Neutral Paralympic Athlete Ekaterina Rumyantseva Best Female Athlete.

The public has until 12:00 (CEST) on Monday (23 April) to vote for the team they want to be the Allianz Best Team of the Month for March 2018 via the www.paralympic.org homepage.

The nominees for Best Team are:

Canadian cross-country open relay team
In an event where most teams have three or four members, Canada went with just two – sit-skier Collin Cameron and vision impaired skier Brian McKeever. The pair raced superbly and called upon all reserves of energy to pick up the bronze.

South Korean Para ice hockey team
Following nearly a decade of building its Para ice hockey programme for the Games, South Korea sealed its first Paralympic medal in the sport 11 months after taking bronze at the 2017 World Para Ice Hockey Championships at the same venue.

US Para ice hockey team
The US conceded just two goals throughout the entire tournament to secure a third straight Paralympic gold with a thrilling overtime win over world champions and rivals Canada.

Chinese wheelchair curling team
Made history when they defeated Norway 6-5 in the final after an extra end to claim China’s first Paralympic Winter Games medal.

Norwegian wheelchair curling team
The reigning world champions’ silver medal was the country’s first in the sport after four Games appearances.

The nominations are compiled from submissions by National Paralympic Committees (NPCs) and International Federations (IFs).

The 2018 winners of the Allianz Athlete of the Month are:

January – Oksana Masters, USA, Nordic skiing

February – Mac Marcoux, CAN, alpine skiing

March (Best Male) – Brian McKeever, CAN, Nordic skiing

March (Best Female) – Ekaterina Rumyantseva, NPA, Nordic skiing


Notes to the Editor:

For further information, please contact Rafael Maranhao, IPC Public Relations Senior Manager on e-mail: rafael.maranhao@paralympic.org.

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) is the global governing body of the Paralympic Movement. It co-ordinates the organisation of the Summer and Winter Paralympic Games, and serves as the International Federation for 10 sports, for which it supervises and co-ordinates the World Championships and other competitions. The IPC’s vision is to enable Para athletes to achieve sporting excellence and inspire and excite the world.

To watch videos and subscribe to ParalympicSport.TV, please go to www.youtube.com/ParalympicSportTV.

Also, you may follow the Paralympic Movement on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ParalympicGames or on Twitter at www.twitter.com/paralympic.