BUENOS AIRES:   The  International Olympic Committee has nine new members after confirmations at the Session in Buenos Aires.

Also three members were re-elected after eight years of membership and four finishing their terms were appointed honorary members.

As indicated in advance, athletics (IAAF president Lord Sebastian Coe) and football (FIFA president Gianni Infantino) were not considered.

New individual members:

Daina Gudzineviciute (Lithuania), president of the Lithuanian Olympic Committee and five-time Olympian;

Felicite Rwemarika (Rwanda), first vice-president of the Rwandan Olympic Committee;

Camilo Pérez López Moreira (Paraguay), president of the Paraguayan Olympic Committee;

Giovanni Malagò (Italy), president of the Italian Olympic Committee – effective from 1 January 2019; and

Samira Asghari (Afghanistan), member of the athletes’ entourage commission since 2014.

Representatives of the Olympic movement  (two members linked to a function within a national Olympic committee or world or continental association of NOCs): 

William Frederick Blick (Uganda), president of the Ugandan Olympic Committee; and

Prince Jigyel Ugyen Wangchuck (Bhutan), president of the Bhutanese Olympic Committee.

Two Members linked to a function within an International Sports Federation (IF) or association of IFs, or an organisation recognised by the IOC:

Morinari Watanabe (Japan), president of the International Gymnastics Federation (FIG); and

Andrew Parsons (Brazil), president of the International Paralympic Committee.

Three Members subject to re-election after eight years of membership and all re-elected:

Amir Sheikh Tamim Bin Hamad Al-Thani (Qatar);

Prince Feisal Al Hussein (Jordan); and

Marisol Casado (Spa).

IOC Member Mr Sergey Bubka (membership linked to his function as President of the NOC of Ukraine) had his status changed from Member representing a NOC to individual member.

The following IOC Members finishing their terms of office at the end of 2018 because of the age limit were granted the status of IOC honorary member. 

As of January 1, 2019:

Prince Tunku Imran (Mal), elected in 2006;

Mario Pescante (Ita), elected in 1994; and

Sam Ramsamy (RSA), elected 1995.

With immediate effect:

Gian-Franco Kasper (Swz), elected in 2000.

Richard Peterkin (LCA) and Mr Barry Maister (NZL) will also both retire at the end of this year.

Ivo Ferriani (ITA) was elected to the IOC executive board as a member “with a view to representing the interests of the Olympic Winter International Federations”. He will serve a mandate of four years.