LONDON: Dina Asher-Smith is the SJA British Sports Awards sportswoman of the year, Cyclist Geraint Thomas was the members’ choice for sportsman while England’s triumphant netball team were voted sports team of 2018.

Asher-Smith, who won the outstanding performance award in 2015, has had a stellar year, winning a historic European Championship treble in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m. She finished 2018 as the fastest woman in the world over 200m and joint fastest at 100m.

Thomas emerged from the pack to win the Tour de France while Tracey Neville’s England women captured the imagination as they won gold in a dramatic Commonwealth Games final against Australia.

The British Sports Awards sponsored by The National Lottery were first staged in 1949. The winners of the three main awards are chosen through a ballot of the Association’s 750 memberships which includes many of the country’s leading sports writers, photographers and broadcasters.

Around 300 celebrity guests from sport, politics and the media were at the Pavilion at the Tower of London to acknowledge another amazing year of sporting achievement.