LONDON: Newcastle striker Callum Wilson has been recalled to the England squad by manager Gareth Southgate for their final two Euro 2024 qualifiers.

Wilson, 31, has scored seven Premier League goals this season, but sustained a hamstring injury as Newcastle lost at Borussia Dortmund on Tuesday. Tottenham midfielder James Maddison and Arsenal forward Bukayo Saka are also in despite injury worries.

England play Malta on November 17 and North Macedonia on November 20. Southgate’s side have already qualified for the tournament in Germany next June and July after a 3-1 win against Italy in October.

Chelsea forward Raheem Sterling, who has has 82 caps and 20 goals for England, is left out of a fifth successive squad.

Aston Villa striker Ollie Watkins retains his place after his first inclusion since March 2022 for the October international matches, while Jordan Henderson, who joined Saudi Arabian side Al-Ettifaq from Liverpool in July, also keeps his spot.

Arsenal striker Eddie Nketiah and Manchester City defender John Stones are both out injured.

Southgate said during his news conference on Thursday the door was “100pc open” for 28-year-old Sterling and other players who have not been chosen.

He added: “We don’t need to know about his quality, his personality. He is a crucial part of why we’ve had the journey we’ve had over the last few years.

“I can only repeat what I have said in the meetings, we’re playing exceptionally well and who can I leave out?”

Southgate also said Chelsea right-back Reece James asked to be left out of the squad as he did not feel “quite ready”, having only recently returned to action after a hamstring issue.

England squad:

Goalkeepers: Sam Johnstone (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Levi Colwill (Chelsea), Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Fikayo Tomori (AC Milan), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Al-Ettifaq), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (Arsenal)

Forwards: Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), James Maddison (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa), Callum Wilson (Newcastle)