BANGKOK: Holders Brazil beat Spain 3-2 to win the FIFA Futsal World Cup for the fifth time as the 2012 event came to a thrilling climax in the Huamark Indoor Stadium.

Neto struck the decisive goal 19 seconds from the end to add another crown to their previous triumphs in 1989, 1992, 1996 and 2008.

Spain began well but Brazil were lifted by the introduction of veteran star Falcao and duly took the lead through Neto.

Spain hit back when Torras pounced on a rebound to fire home after Miguelin’s left-foot effort had been parried brilliantly by keeper Tiago. Alemao then put them ahead before Torras was denied a third goal when his shot hit the bar.

Brazil levelled a minute later through Falcao which took the match into extra time where Neto’s stunning strike proved decisive. He flicked the ball over his marker on the halfway line and raced forward before shooting low into the corner.

In the match for third place, Italy beat Colombia 3-0 with a double strike from Rodolfo Fortino and a glorious third from Sergio Romano.

Tournament awards:

Golden Ball (best player): Neto (Brz)

Golden Boot (top scorer): Eder Lima (Brz)

Golden Glove (best goalkeeper): Stefano Mammarella (It)

Fair Play award: Argentina.

# # #