NYON: UEFA has suspended prize money payments to six teams in its latest step along the road to financial fairplay. The six clubs had late debts to other clubs, employees, social security or tax authorities.

The European federation indentified Astra Ploiesti (Romania), Metalurg Donetsk (Ukraine), Hajduk Split (Croatia), HSK Zrinjski (Bosnia), Skonto FC (Latvia) and Trabzonspor (Turkey).

The decision was taken based on information supplied on June 30. Further information was requested from another 25 clubs.

Malaga, who should have qualified for this season’s Europa League, have already been banned from European competition for a season because of overdue payments to rivals clubs and the Spanish tax authorities.

UEFA said the sanctions would remain in force until the clubs settled their payments in full. From next season, clubs who do not comply with the full range of financial fair play conditions will not be allowed to play in European competition.