LONDON: David Bernstein, the former Football Association chairman, has been made a CBE in the UK New Year Honours List.

Bernstein was appointed to the role of chairman in 2010 but was forced to relinquish the post under FA rules when he reached 70 and was succeeded by Greg Dyke in July.

He said: “I think this honour relates to all my 20 years in football and I am really delighted.

“I had 10 years at Manchester City and it was a fantastic period to be involved at a key moment in its history, getting the club back on its feet and organising the deal for the new stadium.

“It was then enormously satisfying to be involved with Wembley through its construction phase to see it become the greatest stadium in the world.”

There was no honours mention for Wimbledon champion Andy Murray or retired England captain David Beckham, despite earlier speculation.

People are nominated for their achievements by members of the public and whether they are given an honour – and the type of honour – is decided by a committee.

The committee’s decision goes to the prime minister and then to the Queen.

Ann Jones, who beat Billie Jean King to win the 1969 Wimbledon singles’ title, is appointed a CBE after years of work in tennis administration.

West Ham vice-chairman Karren Brady has been made CBE for services to entrepreneurship and women in business while London Marathon race director Dave Bedford, a former 10,000m world record holder was made an OBE.

Geoff Miller, who retired as England cricket’s national selector after a seven year period which saw three Ashes victories and the national side’s rise to world number one, becomes an OBE.

England’s most capped women’s footballer Rachel Yankey has become an OBE while Katy McLean, captain of the England women’s rugby union team, is appointed MBE.

Rugby league referee Stuart Cummings, who retired as RFL match officials director earlier this year, is appointed MBE.