ZURICH: Three World Cup goals – by Tim Cahill, James Rodriguez and Robin Van Persie are among the shortlist of 10 in FIFA’s competition for the Puskás Award for the ‘best goal of the year.’

Fans from around the world will vote on the internet to decide which of 10 ten goals chosen by FIFA and some of its football committee members should take the award at the world federation’s annual gala in Zurich in January.

The 10 goals are:

Tim Cahill – 18 June 2014, Australia v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup™

Diego Costa – 23 November 2013, Atlético Madrid v. Getafe, Primera División (Spain)

Marco Fabian – 15 February 2014, Cruz Azul v. Puebla, 1a División 2014 Clausura (Mexico)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic – 19 October 2013, Paris St. Germain v. SC Bastia, Ligue 1 (France)

Pajtim Kasami – 21 October 2013, Crystal Palace v. Fulham, Premier League (England)

Stephanie Roche -20 October 2013, Peamount United v. Wexford Youths, BEWNL (Rep.Ireland)

James Rodriguez – 28 June 2014 – Colombia v. Uruguay,  2014 FIFA World Cup™

Camilo Sanvezzo – 6 October 2013 – Vancouver Whitecaps v. Portland Timbers, MLS (USA/Canada)

Hisato Sato – 8 March 2014 – Sanfrecce Hiroshima v. Kawasaki Frontale, J.League (Japan)

Robin van Persie – 13 June 2014 – Spain v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup™

Videos of the ten goals, as well as the list of scorers and the voting tool, can be found here: http://www.fifa.com/ballondor/puskasaward/index.html

Users of FIFA.com and francefootball.fr will be able to choose from the 10 goals until December 1, when the three goals with the most votes will be disclosed

Immediately after the announcement users will be able to vote again for their favorite from the three remaining goals. Voting will close during the gala.

The award was created in memory of Ferenc Puskás, top-scoring captain of the Hungarian national team during the 1950s.

Award rules: http://resources.fifa.com/mm/document/ballond’or/pusk%c3%a1saward/02/46/27/55/puskasaward_rules_of_allocation_en_neutral.pdf