ZURICH: These were the men who voted in December 2010 in the election to choose the World Cup hosts for 2018 and 2022 — Russia and Qatar, as it turned out:


Sepp Blatter (Switzerland) currently awaiting CAS verdict on his appeal against a six-year ethics ban;


Julio Grondona (Argentina) died in July 2014;

Issa Hayatou (Cameroon) still a vice-president, chair of the FIFA finance committee and head of the African confederation;

Mong Joon Chung (South Korea) serving a five-year ban;

Jack Warner (Trinidad and Tobago) banned for life and contesting extradition to the US from Trinidad and Tobago;

Angel Maria Villar (Spain) still serving, also president of the Spanish federation; fined 25,000 Swiss francs and formally cautioned for not co-operating with the ethics committee;

Michel Platini (France) banned from football for four years accepting an irregular payment from FIFA at Blatter’s authorisation;

Geoff Thompson (England) still serving on FIFA committees;

Ordinary members:

Michel D’Hooghe (Belgium) still serving on FIFA Council;

Ricardo Teixeira (Brazil) quit all football posts; indicted by the US Department of Justice but ‘safe’ in Brazil;

Mohammed Bin Hammam (Qatar) former AFC president, banned for life;

Senes Erzik (Turkey) still serving on FIFA Council;

Chuck Blazer (United States) former CONCACAF general secretary, the FIFAGate whistleblower, banned from football for life;

Worawi Makudi (Thailand) banned for five years this week;

Nicolas Leoz (Paraguay) banned former CONMEBOL president, contesting extraditing to the United States on a FIFAGate indictment;

Junji Ogura (Japan) retired;

Marios Lefkaritis (Cyprus) still serving on FIFA Council;

Jacques Anouma (Ivory Coast) former exco member;

Franz Beckenbauer (Germany) former exco member, reprimanded for non-co-operation with FIFA ethics World Cup votes inquiry; under investigation concerning the German 2006 World Cup cash scandal;

Rafael Salguero (Guatemala) former exco member under FIFAGate indictment;

Hany Abo Rida (Egypt) still serving on FIFA Council;

Vitaly Mutko (Russia) still serving on FIFA Council.