SUWON, S Korea: England have won a FIFA age-group crown for the first time after defeating Venezuela 1-0 in Suwon to land the World Under-20 Cup.

Everton’s Dominic Calvert-Lewin struck the decisive goal in the 34th minute of an entertaining game in which both teams hit the posts. Calvert-Lewin shot home at second attempt after winning a through ball in the air.

Venezuela had wasted a golden chance to pull themselves back into time when Adalberto Penaranda saw his 75th-minute penalty saved by Freddie Woodman., The Newcastle goalkeeper dived to his right and stretched out his left hand to push the ball away.

Penaranda is contracted to English Premier League club Watford and has been on loan at Malaga this past season.

England manager Paul Simpson was born four days before England won their only previous FIFA crown — the 1966 World Cup.

Earlier Italy won the third-place play-off 4-1 on penalties against Uruguay after a 0-0 draw.

FIFA World U-20 Cup awards:

The FIFA Technical Study Group announced the adidas indvidual awards for the competition best player, top scorer and best goalkeeper. The Fair Play award was also announced. This award is based on the team with the best fair play record.

Golden Ball Award

Award Player Team / No
Golden Ball SOLANKE Dominic (ENG,10)
Silver Ball VALVERDE Federico (URU, 16)
Bronze Ball HERRERA Yangel (VEN, 8)

Golden Boot Award

Award Player Team / No
Golden Boot ORSOLINI Riccardo  (ITA, 7)
Silver Boot SARGENT Joshua  (USA,19)
Bronze Boot AUGUSTIN, Jean-Kevin  (FRA, 7)

Golden Glove

Award Player Team / No
Golden Glove  WOODMAN Freddie  (ENG, 1)

FIFA Fair Play Award (maximum: 1000 pts)

Team Pts (Avg.) Matches played
 Mexico  0848  5