KIEV: Lyon came from behind in extra time to win a record-extending fifth UEFA Women’s Champions League by defeating 10-player Wolfsburg 4-1 in Kiev.

Amandine Henry, Eugenie Le Sommer and Ada Hegerberg all scored in the first period of extra time with substitute Camille Abily adding a fourth later in front of a 14,000 crowd in the Valeriy Lobanovskyi Dynamo Stadium

The German champions had taken a 93rd-minute lead through Danish forward Pernille Harder but key midfielder Alexandra Popp was be sent off almost immediately afterwards for a second yellow card.

Lyon took decisive adavantage to become the first club to win the trophy three years in a row and overtake Frankfurt’s record of four titles to wrap up a triumphant first season for coach Reynald Pedros. Earlier Lyon secured a 12th consecutive French league crown and they still jave the Frenchcup final to come against old rivals Paris Saint-Germain.

This was the third time the clubs had met in the final in six seasons. In 2013, Wolfsburg triumphed 1-0 in London for their first of back-to-back Champions League titles with Lyon gained revenge in 2016 via a penalty shoot-out.

Lyon had the better of the chances in normal time but then fell behind when Harder’s low strike from outside the penalty box took a deflection off Lyon skipper Wendie Renard.

Two minutes later Popp was shown a second yellow card and within three more minutes France midfielder Henry equalised. One more minute and substitute Shanice van de Sanden set up Le Sommer to put Lyon 2-1 in front.

Van de Sanden also provided the assist for Norwegian Hegerberg.