ZURICH: Eight countries have “expressed their interest”, according to FIFA, in bidding to host the U-20 World Cup in 2021. Three FAs envisage bidding individually while the remaining five are proposing joint stagings, totalling five potential bids.

The five are:

*  Bahrain Football Association, Saudi Arabian Football Federation & United Arab Emirates Football Association

* Brazil

* Indonesia

*  Myanmar and Thailand

* Peru

As for process, FIFA said:

In accordance with the Overview of the Bidding Process distributed in April to all MAs, FIFA will dispatch all bidding and hosting documents to the MAs who expressed their interest on 24 May. The deadline to submit the bids is 30 August, with the host expected to be appointed by the FIFA Council at its meeting in the fourth quarter of 2019.