RIO DE JANEIRO: Hosts Brazil collected their fourth U-17 crown after an emotional 2-1 triumph over Mexico in the final at Brasilia’s Estadio Bezerrao.

The Brazilians have now moved within one title of equalling record holders Nigeria, though this was their first since 2003. It also may have been the sweetest, given that the South Americans became only the second team to top the competition as hosts – the first, interestingly enough, was Mexico eight years ago.

For the second straight match, Lazaro was Brazil’s super sub. On Thursday he capped his side’s comeback against France in the semi-final by bagging the winning goal in the 89th minute.

On Sunday the No20 left it even later. Brazil fell behind in the 66th minute when Bryan Gonzalez beat adidas Golden Glove winner Matheus Donelli with a superbly-directed header. A Kaio Jorge penalty goal brought Brazil roaring back 18 minutes later, and Lazaro’s volleyed, close-range strike three minutes into second-half stoppage time sealed the trophy for the hosts.

In the third-place match, France rode Arnaud Kalimuendo-Muinga’s hat-trick to victory over European rivals the Netherlands. Both teams benefitted from the reintroduction of their captains, who missed their respective semi-finals. Oranje field general Kenneth Taylor assisted the opening goal of the match, flicking a pass over the French defence to play Mohamed Taabouni in on goal. France captain Lucien Agoume countered with an incisive through ball seven minutes later, which eventually led to Kalimuendo-Muinga’s first goal. The Paris Saint-Germain starlet scored two more in the second period en route to Les Bleuets‘ bronze medal finish.

The awards

Veron of Brazil was confirmed as the best player at the FIFA U-17 World Cup Brazil 2019™ after the official awards were announced.

Veron won the adidas Golden Ball which is awarded to the best player by the FIFA Technical Study Group (TSG). Adil Aouchiche of France and Eugenio Pizzuto of Mexico came second and third respectively.

The adidas Golden Boot was won by Netherlands striker Sontje Hansen, with six goals and three assists in 528 minutes played. Nathanael Mbuku of France collected the Silver Boot with five goals and one assist in 487 ninutes and Kaio Jorge of Brazil the Bronze with an equal tally and 559 minutes played.

Brazil’s goalkeeper Matheus Donelli collected the adidas Golden Glove while Ecuador were awarded the Fair Play award finishing first in the fair play contest.

Golden Boot Award

Award Player Team No Goals Assists Minutes
Golden Scorer Sontje HANSEN Netherlands 7 6 3 528
Silver Scorer Nathanael MBUKU France 11 5 1 487
Bronze Scorer KAIO JORGE Brazil 9 5 1 559

The Golden Boot is awarded to the player who scores the most goals in the final competition. If two or more players score the same number of goals, the number of assists (as determined by members of the FIFA Technical Study Group) will be decisive. If two or more players are still equal after taking into account the number of assists, the total number of matches played in the final competition will be taken into account, with the player playing fewer matches ranked first.
adidas Golden Ball Award

Award Player Team No
Golden Ball VERON Brazil 7
Silver Ball ADIL AOUCHICHE France 10
Bronze Ball EUGENIO PIZZUTO Mexico 6

The Golden Ball is awarded to the best player in the final competition on the basis of a ranking compiled by the FIFA Technical Study Group. A Silver Ball and a Bronze Ball will be awarded to the second and third best players.

adidas Golden Glove Award

Award Player Team No
Golden Glove MATHEUS DONELLI Brazil 1

The Golden Glove is awarded to the best goalkeeper in the final competition on the basis of a ranking compiled by the FIFA Technical Study Group.

FIFA Fair Play Trophy

Award Team
FIFA Fair Play Ecuador

The FIFA Fair Play Trophy, a fair play medal for each Delegation Member, a diploma and a voucher for USD 10,000 worth of beach soccer equipment (to be used for beach soccer development) is presented to the team finishing first in the fair play contest. The applicable rules are in the fair play contest regulations.