DEN HAAG: International players’ association FIFPRO is launching a Global Player Council to strengthen the role of professional footballers in shaping their industry at an international level.

The council, according to a statement, “will reinforce the mandate of FIFPRO and its 65 affiliated national player associations to protect the interests of players around the world and safeguard their rights.

“While national player associations are the key driver of the collective voice of footballers, adding an international council strengthens our capacity to address cross-border issues as globalization rapidly influences football.

“The GPC will allow active players to comment on, discuss and influence global regulations, trends and the strategic development of football worldwide.

“It will also provide the opportunity for council members to drive initiatives linked to player health and development, among other activities off the pitch.”

FIFPRO general secretary Jonas Baer-Hoffman said: “Together with these players we will amplify the voice of players worldwide. As professional football develops globally at a rapid pace this new channel is more important than ever. We are excited by the enthusiasm of so many players, who are leaders on and off the pitch, to be part of the Global Player Council.

“We are looking forward to giving this group of players a platform to share and use their considerable experience on a wide range of key issues that impact both them and their fellow professionals.”

The following players form part of the inaugural GPC:

Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus & Italy)

Gabriela Garton (UAI Urquiza & Argentina)

Ada Hegerberg (Olympique Lyonnais & Norway)

Eiji Kawashima (Strasbourg & Japan)

Elise Kellond-Knight (Washington Spirit & Australia)

Vincent Kompany (Anderlecht & Belgium)

Saki Kumagai (Olympique Lyonnais & Japan)

Kim Little (Arsenal & Scotland)

Andre Onana (Ajax & Cameroon)

Daniela Pardo (Santiago Morning & Chile)

Rui Patricio (Wolves & Portugal)

Neven Subotic (Union Berlin & Serbia)

Nicolas Tagliafico (Ajax & Argentina)

Jodie Taylor (Reign FC & England)

Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt & Germany)