LONDON: Lewis Hamilton, seven-time Formula 1 world champion, record-breaking jockey Hollie Doyle and Premier League champions Liverpool FC were winners in the UK Sports Journalists’ Association sportsman, sportswoman and team of the year awards are voted for by SJA members.

The awards were held via a virtual ceremony, hosted by Jim Rosenthal.

SJA President Patrick Collins posthumously chose London Marathon co-founder Chris Brasher for his personal award.

The SJA Bill McGowran Trophy for male and female para athletes of the year was awarded to Sarah Storey, winner of three golds at the 2020 track cycling world championships, and Alfie Hewett and Gordon Reid, wheelchair tennis doubles partnership, who completed the career grand slam with victory at the French Open.

The National Lottery gave their Spirit of Sport award to Kim Daybell, Polly Swann and Vicky Wright, who all stepped away from sport this year to serve on the frontline of the NHS during the coronavirus crisis.

SJA Chair Ashley Broadley said: “When the first lockdown was announced in March we did wonder how we would come to select our outstanding sports competitors of this traumatic year. But as time progressed the talent, tenacity and flair of some brilliant sportsmen, women and teams came to the fore and we’re delighted to salute them now.”