NYON: The UEFA Club Financial Control Body (CFCB) First Chamber, under the leadership of its Chairman, Mr Sunil Gulati, has confirmed that PFC CSKA-Sofia (BUL), FC Porto (POR), CD Santa Clara (POR) and Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR) have satisfied the conditions previously set by the CFCB and will not face exclusion from UEFA club competitions. Furthermore, FC Porto (POR) and Wolverhampton Wanderers FC (ENG) successfully exited the settlement regime.

In December 2021 and January 2022, the UEFA Club Financial Control Body decided to exclude PFC CSKA-Sofia (BUL), Mons Calpe SC (GIB), FC Porto (POR), CD Santa Clara (POR) and Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR) from participating in the next UEFA club competition unless the clubs were able to prove, by 31 January 2022, that they had settled the required amounts that were identified as overdue payables as at 30 September 2021. In addition, Real Betis Balompié (ESP) was subject to an additional fine should the required overdue amount not be settled by 1 March 2022.

All above-mentioned clubs, except Mons Calpe SC (GIB), have taken the necessary actions and have proven to have fulfilled the conditions imposed by the CFCB within the set deadlines. Accordingly, the conditional disciplinary measures contained in the relevant CFCB decisions will not take effect, with the exception of Mons Calpe SC (GIB).

Finally, the CFCB First Chamber has also issued orders in the cases of FC Porto (POR) and Wolverhampton Wanderers FC (ENG) which had concluded settlement agreements, in June 2017 and July 2020 respectively, related to the break-even requirement. Both clubs were found to have complied with the overall objective of their agreement in the 2021/22 season, and therefore exited the settlement regime.