LONDON: Wayne Rooney has been appointed the new captain of England by manager Roy Hodgson ahead of the qualifying competition for the 2016 European Championship.

The 28-year-old Manchester United striker takes over from Liverpool’s Steven Gerrard who retired from national team football after the first round World Cup exit in Brazil in June.

Rooney, who has scored 40 goals in 95 appearances, was also named club captain by United manager Louis Van Gaal earlier this month.

His first formal duty will be in England’s friendly  against Norway at Wembley next Wednesday before the Euro 2016 campaign starts in Switzerland on September 8.

Hodgson has named four uncapped players in his latest squad: Arsenal’s Calum Chambers, Newcastle’s Jack Colback, Tottenham’s Danny Rose and Aston Villa’s Fabian Delph.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Southampton), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Joe Hart (Manchester City)

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Calum Chambers (Arsenal), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), John Stones (Everton)

Midfielders: Jack Colback (Newcastle United), Fabian Delph (Aston Villa), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal) Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Andros Townsend (Tottenham Hotspur), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Forwards: Rickie Lambert (Liverpool), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United)