ZURICH: Chaired by FIFA President Blatter, the FIFA Executive Committee held its first meeting in its new composition today at the Home of FIFA in Zurich.

In his opening remarks, FIFA President Blatter welcomed the new members of the FIFA Executive Committee. He reminded all those present that he was “the President of all member associations of FIFA”.

He underlined again the landmark step taken by yesterday’s Congress regarding the situation in Israel and Palestine and, in particular, the handshake between the presidents of both associations, Jibril Al Rajoub and Ofer Eini, which he qualified as “historic”. The FIFA President also reiterated that a professional football department would be created at FIFA.

The main item on the agenda of the meeting was the allocation of slots per confederation for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ and 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar™. The Executive decided to keep the current allocation:

  • Africa: 5
  • Asia: 4.5
  • Europe: 13
  • North, Central America and Caribbean: 3.5
  • Oceania: 0.5
  • South America: 4.5
  • Host: 1

With regard to the bidding process for the 2026 FIFA World Cup™, the Executive confirmed that, in accordance with the FIFA Statutes – art. 80, par. 4 stipulates that “the right to host the event shall not be awarded to members of the same Confederation for two consecutive editions of the FIFA World Cup™” – member associations from the Asian Football Confederation would not be able to bid.

Subsequent to its new composition, the FIFA Executive Committee decided on the new composition of the FIFA Emergency and Finance Committees, as well as the representation of FIFA Executive Committee members on a number of FIFA standing committees.

The Executive decided to suspend the Indonesia Football Association (PSSI) with immediate effect and until the PSSI would be able to comply with its obligations under arts. 13 and 17 of the FIFA Statutes. This decision resulted from the effective “take over” of the activities of PSSI by the Indonesian authorities. However, and as an exceptional measure, the national team would be allowed to continue their current participation in the 2015 Southeast Asian Games.

Alfredo Hawit Banegas (Honduras), David Gill (England) and Marco Polo Del Nero (Brazil) did not attend the meeting.

The next meeting of the FIFA Executive Committee will take place on 24-25 September 2015 at the Home of FIFA in Zurich.





Fédération Internationale de Football Association
FIFA-Strasse 20   P.O. Box   8044 Zurich   Switzerland
FIFA Media Department
Tel : +41-(0)43 222 7272
E-Mail: media@fifa.org    www.FIFA.com
Follow us on Twitter: @fifamedia and youtube.com/FIFA