NYON: UEFA has confirmed the names of the three candidates attempting to succeed Michel Platini as president of European football’s governing body.

Platini resigned in May after failing to overturn a ban imposed for ethics breaches over payments he received from former Fifa president Sepp Blatter.

He will be succeeded by Dutch football boss Michael van Praag, acting Uefa president Angel Maria Villar or Slovenian FA boss Aleksander Ceferin.

The election will be on 14 September.

Platini, 60, and former FIFA counterpart Blatter, 80, were last year found guilty over a “disloyal payment” of 2m Swiss Franc (£1.3m), with Platini banned from all football activity for four years.

** Evelina Christillin of the Italian Football Federation and Laura McAllister, of the Football Association of Wales, have officially submitted their candidacies for the position of Uefa’s additional female member on the Fifa Council.