NYON: Baku and Atletico de Madrid have been confirmed by European federation UEFA as the two contenders to host the 2019 Champions League final.

The Olympic Stadium in Baku will be a 2020 European Championship venue while Atletico’s new home – which has been proposed as 2020 Olympic stadium in the city’s doomed Games bid – will open this year.

UEFA has returned to an open tender process after years of awarding the match without bids.

This season’s Champions League final will be played at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff, Wales, which was overlooked for Euro 2020.

Next year, the Olympic Stadium in Kiev, Ukraine, will host the match weeks before the World Cup kicks off in neighbouring Russia.

UEFA says seven stadia entered the 2019 Europa League final bid contest. They include Baku, Euro 2020 venue Hampden Park in Glasgow and the home stadiums of Besiktas in Istanbul and Sevilla.

The declarations of interest are not binding and the final proposals will have to be delivered with the bid dossiers by June 6. Each bidding association will only be entitled to a maximum of one bid per final.

UEFA’s executive committee will select the successful host associations in September 2017.

Full bidding list:

UEFA Champions League:

Azerbaijan Baku Olympic stadium
Spain Madrid Estadio Metropolitano

UEFA Europa League:


Azerbaijan Baku Olympic stadium
Georgia Tbilisi Dinamo Arena
Germany Frankfurt Frankfurt Stadion
Germany Stuttgart Arena Stuttgart
Scotland Glasgow Hampden Park
Spain Sevilla Estadio Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán
Turkey Istanbul Beşiktaş Arena

UEFA Women’s Champions League:


Czech Republic Prague Eden Arena
Hungary Budapest Flórián Albert stadion
Kazakhstan Astana Astana Arena
Lithuania Kaunas Darius & Girenas Stadium
Scotland Glasgow Hampden Park
Spain Madrid Coliseum Alfonso Pérez

UEFA Super Cup:


Albania Tirana Qemal Stafa Stadium
France Toulouse Stadium de Toulouse
Hungary Budapest Flórián Albert stadion
Israel Haifa Sammy Ofer Stadium
Kazakhstan Astana Astana Arena
Northern Ireland Belfast Windsor Park
Poland Gdansk Arena Gdansk
Poland Warsaw Stadion Narodowy
Scotland Glasgow Hampden Park
Turkey Istanbul Beşiktaş Arena