STOCKHOLM: Goalkeeper-captain Nadine Angerer was the heroine as Germany won the UEFA European Women’s Championship for the sixth time in a row and eighth time in all after beating Norway 1-0 in the 2013 final in Solna.

Angerer saved a penalty in each half from Trine Ronning then Solveig Gulbrandsen as yet another German national team exerted spotkick control. Norway dominated possession but had no luck. They even had a second-half ‘goal’ by Ada Hegerberg disallowed correctly for offside.

Anja Mittag was the champions’ other decisive player, scoring what proved the winning goal with her first touch four minutes after coming in to the game as a half-time substitute. Germany might even won have by a larger margin but a late, close-range effort from Nadine Kessler hit a post.