LONDON: Leicester City’s England striker Jamie Vardy has been named the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year for 2015-16.

Vardy, 29, has been outstanding for the Premier League leaders, scoring 22 goals in 36 appearances in all competitions for the Foxes.

The FWA is England’s oldest football personality award and has been running since the late 1940s.

Vardy said: “It’s a great honour to win such a prestigious award and to have my name added to a list of previous winners that includes some unbelievable players. Thank you to the Football Writers’ Association and to everyone that voted.

“Thank you, also, to my team-mates, who are the reason I’ve been able to achieve anything. It’s been an amazing season for all of us at Leicester, based on team-work, not individuals, which you can see in the voting.

“Thanks also to the manager, all the staff and the fans for their support. We’re all totally focused on getting over the line in the final two weeks of the season and turning a great season into one we’ll never forget.

“Hopefully I can contribute to that and, if selected, carry some good form into the Euros this summer.”

Vardy, who was playing non-league football with Fleetwood four years ago, broke the Premier League record for scoring in successive games earlier this season.

He surpassed the total set by Ruud van Nistelrooy by scoring in 11 straight matches from August 29 to November 28.

Vardy, who made his England debut in June 2015, scored his first international goal in March against Germany in Berlin, before scoring his second three days later against Holland at Wembley.

The winner of Footballer of the Year is voted for by FWA members – a group of around 400 football journalists. This year is the first time a Leicester City player has received the award in its 69-year history.

Chelsea attacker Eden Hazard won the 2014-15 award, while Luis Suarez picked up the trophy in 2013-14 while at Liverpool.