NYON: Lyon will stage the 2018 UEFA Europa League final after the European federation’s executive committee approved the full details of access list, club coefficient and distribution for its club competitions in the 2018-21 cycle.

Further decisions will follow in August.

For the upcoming cycle, it was also decided to have two separate kick-off times in the UEFA Champions League, at 19.00CET (two matches) and 21.00CET (six matches), allowing fans opportunities to watch more matches.

The new access list continues to provide the 55 national associations with an opportunity to qualify for the group stages of both club competitions.

It will also ensure that all domestic champions eliminated in the qualifying rounds of the UEFA Champions League get a second chance in European competitions by entering a dedicated champions’ path in the UEFA Europa League qualification.

The new club coefficient will no longer include a 20pc contribution of the national association coefficient in order to avoid further unfair advantage for clubs of top-ranked associations and penalisation of clubs with good individual performances but weak association coefficient.

The club coefficient used for seeding purposes will be calculated using results of the past five years to reflect the current strength of teams and will not contain bonus points for previous titles.

Meanwhile, the club coefficient used for financial distribution purposes will cover the last 10 years and will include bonus points for previous titles to reflect the longer-term contribution of clubs to the competition brand and success.

Bonus points for titles won will be allocated as follows:

UCL* / UEL* / CWC*

Last 5 years

12 / 3

As of 1992/93

8 / 2 / 2

Before 1992/93

4 / 1 / 1

Following a proposal from the UEFA president, an additional contribution of €50m from the UEFA Champions League to the UEFA Europa League will be made, as well as an additional amount of €10m will be earmarked also from the UEFA Champions League as additional solidarity distribution for the qualifying rounds.

The committee agreed to further strengthen UEFA’s comprehensive anti-doping programme by extending the time of storage of samples to ten years, allowing retesting when new testing procedures become available.

The UEFA Executive Committee approved the bidding principle for the 2019 UEFA Nations League Final Four – to be played between 5 to 9 June 2019 – with the hosts to be selected amongst the four finalists.

The key requirements will consist of two stadiums of minimum capacity of 30,000 to host one semi-final each, one third-placed match and the final within a radius of 150km. The bidding process will start in December 2017 and the hosts will be appointed in December 2018.

The system to determine the host city pairing for the final tournament of UEFA EURO 2020 was approved. Several lists of pairs will be created based on sporting strength (assuming that all host teams may qualify); geography (distances); and if applicable, security/political constraints. The UEFA administration shall draw up five or six different lists of city pairings – all respecting the above criteria – and one list of pairs will then be selected by draw in November/December 2017.

The bidding concept for UEFA Euro 2024 was ratified and will allow joint bids. Direct qualification will be guaranteed in any case to a maximum of two hosts. The minimum requirements to stage the tournament will be based on nine or 10 stadia, with two or three with at least 50,000 net capacity (preferable one with minimum 60,000); three stadia with at least 40,000 net capacity and four stadia with at least 30,000 net capacity.

The bidding timeline will be as follows:

• 9 December 2016: official invitation to bid sent out to UEFA member associations

• 3 March 2017: deadline for national associations to confirm their interest in bidding

• 10 March 2017: announcement of bidders by UEFA

• 27 April 2018: bid dossier submission deadline to UEFA

• September 2018: appointment of host(s) of UEFA EURO 2024

The bidding concept for club competitions finals in 2019 was approved and interested associations will have until 27 January 2017 to express their interest. Decisions on the hosts will be made in September 2017.

Host associations were appointed for a variety of competitions:

• UEFA European Under-21 Championship – Italy 2019

• UEFA European Under-19 Championship – Armenia 2019, Northern Ireland 2020

• UEFA European Under-17 Championship – Republic of Ireland 2019, Estonia 2020

• UEFA European Women’s Under-19 Championship –Scotland 2019, Georgia 2020

• UEFA European Women’s Under-17 Championship – Bulgaria 2019, Sweden 2020

• UEFA Fustal Cup – Almaty, Kazakhstan 2017

The prize money for the 2017 UEFA Women’s EURO, which will be taking place in the Netherlands next summer with 16 qualified teams, was approved.

The overall amount available to finalist teams was increased significantly from the €2.2m available in 2013 to €8m for this upcoming edition.

Each team will receive €300,000 as a starting fee and bonuses of €500,000 to reach the quarter-finals, €700,000 to reach the semi-finals, whereas the runners-up will pocket €1m and the European Champions €1,2m.

Results of the 2015/16 Fair Play Ranking were presented, with the associations of Norway (overall fair play), Estonia (best spectators) and Belarus (best progression) to each receive €50,000, to be donated to an amateur or professional club of their choice to fund fair play or respect-related themed projects.

Finally, the current UEFA Director of Competitions Giorgio Marchetti was appointed UEFA Deputy General Secretary.

The next meeting of the UEFA Executive Committee will take place on February 8 and 9 in Nyon.