NYON: Denmark’s Pernille Harder, Germany’s Dzsenifer Marozsán and Holland’s Lieke Martens have been shortlisted for the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year Award.

The winner will be announced on August 24 in Monaco and Barcelona winger Martens must be the favourite after being hailed as player of the tournament for the victorious.hosts at the recent European Women’s Championship.The Dutch beat Harder’s Denmark 4-2 in the final after the Danes had earlier ended the six-tournament title command of Marozsan’s Germany.

For the women’s award, the shortlist of three players was selected by a jury composed of the coaches of the 16 teams which participated in the recent UEFA Women’s Euro , together with the coaches of the eight clubs that reached the quarter-finals of the 2016-17 Women’s Champions League.

Twenty journalists specialising in women’s football and selected by the ESM group were also part of the jury.

The UEFA Women’s Player of the Year Award recognises the best players, irrespective of nationality, who played for a club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the past season.

Players are judged on their performances in all club and national team competitions – domestic, continental and international.

The final result was based on the total number of votes cast by the coaches and the journalists. The coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.

Norway’s Ada Hegerberg was last year’s winner.

Top 10:

1: Pernille Harder (Denmark, Linköping and Wolfsburg)

2: Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany, Lyon)

3: Lieke Martens (Netherlands, Rosengård and Barcelona)

4: Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands, Bayern München and Arsenal)

5: Eugénie Le Sommer (France, Lyon)

6: Wendie Renard (France, Lyon)

7: Jackie Groenen (Netherlands, FFC Frankfurt)

8: Lucy Bronze (England, Manchester City)

9: Jodie Taylor (England, Arsenal)

10: Shanice van de Sanden (Netherlands, Liverpool)

Previous winners of the award:
2012-13 ─ Nadine Angerer (Germany, FFC Frankfurt)
2013-14 ─ Nadine Kessler (Germany, Wolfsburg)
2014-15 ─ Célia Šašić (Germany, FFC Frankfurt)
2016-17 ─ Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Lyon)