LONDON: The six Premier League clubs involved in the aborted breakaway Super League have been fined a combined total of £22m.

Manchester United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Manchester City, Tottenham and Arsenal withdrew within days of joining a project which was slated by governing bodies, politicians and fans.

A further fine of £25m each and a 30-point deduction will be applied should they attempt a similar project again.

The FA and Premier League say the £22m is “a gesture of goodwill” from clubs.

In a joint statement the league and the national governing body confirmed the money “will go towards the good of the game”, which includes “new investment in support for fans” and will help fund grassroots and community projects.

“The six clubs involved in proposals to form a European Super League have today acknowledged once again that their actions were a mistake, and have reconfirmed their commitment to the Premier League and the future of the English game,” the two bodies said in a statement.

“They have wholeheartedly apologised to their fans, fellow clubs, the Premier League and the FA.

“The Premier League and the FA have worked closely together throughout this process and this agreement brings both investigations into the matter to a conclusion.”

It has been speculated that Manchester United’s owners the Glazer family, Liverpool owners Fenway Sports Group, Arsenal’s majority shareholders Kroenke Sports Enterprises and Tottenham’s owners will pay the fine rather than their clubs.

Nine of the ESL clubs – the six Premier League sides, plus AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid – were fined a similar amount by European governing body UEFA last month.

They agreed to pay 15m euros (£13.4m) between them and have 5% of their Uefa competition revenues held for one season, starting in 2023-24.

The other three clubs involved – Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus – were targeted by UEFA’s disciplinary bodies but this action has been shelved pending the outcome of legal arguments.